100 Great Stories

Because so many Top 100 lit lists are so full of crap, I’ve decided to make my own. No Proust, no Joyce, none of those put-you-to-sleep, emperor-has-no-clothes writers that we’re supposed to like but really don’t.  Just good ripping tales well told — works of fiction that I’ve read and enjoyed and can recommend. If you want to read any of them, great. If you want to argue about what’s on or not on my list, or recommend other titles that you think I ought to like, that’s also great. Friend me on Goodreads.com if you really want to mix it up.  Anyway, here’s my list, sorted alphabetically by author. Enjoy!

11 Responses to 100 Great Stories

  1. theoates says:

    I have only read Fahrenheit 451, Catch-22, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and A Clockwork Orange, but this list seems rather good, although Catch-22 is in my opinion somewhat dull. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is definitely my personal favorite of those that I did read, so good work!

  2. Mike Kupietz says:

    Mentioned Vonnegut and not Mother Night?

  3. Lisa Archer says:

    Great list – right now I’m listening to another Haruki Murakami book on my IPod – Kafka on the Shore – but how could you leave out Jonathan Carroll – my favorite book of his being Outside the Dog Museum. Having little time for pleasure reading lately, I love being able to get in some good books on my drive to work. I’ll have to look up some of the ones I don’t recognize from your list. Thanks for the recommendations!

  4. Mish says:

    I love it when a list makes the heart beat a little faster! Edward Abbey, OH YEAH! And I think Catch-22 is one of the absolute best reads ever, I’ve read it over and over. Recently read Time Traveler’s Wife and enjoyed it a lot, but maybe it could have ended a little earlier? I thought it ran out of steam at the end. I’d like to strongly recommend Rain of Gold by Victor Villasenor. I also think Thoreau’s Walden is awesome, but I may be alone in that… Thanks for the list.

    • Stu-Bob says:

      Thanks for the suggestion. I’ve added Rain of Gold to my to-read list. Sounds like something I’d enjoy, as I am a fan of Luis Valdez (Always Running) and the late, great Oscar Acosta (Revenge of the Cockroach People).

  5. JIa-Bob says:

    Thanks for the list. I’ve bookmarked the page, so I can return if I ever finish Moby Dick, which is on your list. 🙂

  6. mcomike says:

    I just wish you had some stories about war and how it affected people. That Tim O’Brien cracks me up. The Things They Carried…couldn’t keep it together. Whoever said Catch-22 was dull either didn’t read the book or couldn’t understand it. Sorry either way. I’m a couple novels behind on Chuck P. so at least I know what to pick up. What should I take for a long plane ride? 11+ hours.

    • Stu-Bob says:

      Another good war story (on the list) is “To the White Sea,” about a B-29 gunner shot down over Tokyo during the fire-bombing. By James Dickey, who also wrote “Deliverance.”

      Chuck P’s last two, Rant and Pygmy, were both very good – but my faves are still Survivor and Invisible Monsters.

      For an 11-hour flight, I’d go with anything by Pynchon, Stephenson, or Rushdie. All long-winded SOBs in the best possible way.

  7. Erik Salmonson says:

    I am nipples hard ecstatic that Q made the list. I remember once upon a time a certain book club grumbling with resolve that a book based in Reformation era Europe written by four anonymous Italian riders would surely be a pure stinker. And I didn’t fool myself for a second that JR by William Gaddis would make the list.

Leave a Reply

